Freedom

galatians-5-1

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5:1)

Knowing God is one thing but living by his standards is another. This passage says I am free from bondage from my generational curse. God has the power to free me from their iniquities and permitted me to follow a new path given by his will for my life.

hqdefault

Proverbs 22:6

Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.

I’m a single mother and the examples before me were not always good but parenting doesn’t come with a ‘how to manual’ but I knew I didn’t want my kids to live as I. I pray often about being a better mom to my boys and any children God blesses me with. I grew up missing a lot of things from my parents and vowed that my boys would not miss out on the same. As a child never hearing I love you or any kind of praise for the good I did was heart but I make sure to acknowledge what my children do that makes me proud and correct them when they’re wrong. God delivered me from what I was accustomed to and gave me favor as a mom to show my boys a different love than that I was shown. They know I’ll be there to guide them, discipline, encourage, protect and love them. I am not in any way but perfect but to know they see my efforts daily t be better than the day before is such an overwhelming feeling. To see my prayers at work is even better because in today’s society I worry daily about the safety and well-being of my kids.

That’s why it’s such a blessing to know God’s love and to know when they are not in sight He watches over them. It’s a feeling I can’t explain to know God’s love for us has this kind of power to bring us out from the darkness of our families. Another thing that haunts me is being a single, unwed mother because most of my family is living this way or in bad relationships. I have had a few good examples but never-the-less it is not the choices I made but blessings come from it. Yes, I find myself entangled in this curse at this moment but I am trusting the Lord to see me through this too. I’ve always wanted to be married, even before children were ever thought about, but I can now say I had no foundation to be a wife. My attitude was not one of a woman destined to be a king’s queen. God had to heal my wounds, adjust my attitude, image I saw and fix my shattered heart before I could be the kind of wife he had called me to be.

proverbs 18-22

I’m still learning and paving a way for a better tomorrow. God knows his will for my life and I know his plans are far more fulfilling than my own. I know I’ve come to far for him to leave me now.

God has taken me on a journey that most would have buckled from but I’m here standing in victory because of his love. He’s given me the insight and knowledge about my people and being a better version of myself. He’s given me strength to rise above my circumstances and to be victorious in my fight for change. It’s amazing how powerful prayer is and how it works in our favor. To know our Father is so awesome is electrifying.

My past has lightened my future because of God’s unconditional love and promises. No matter the mistakes of my people I can overcome their shadows by prayer and faith. God has granted me favor.

Leave a Reply

