Changing Our Attitudes

While on this journey I will provide you with whatever book I am reading and a scripture to go along with the message. Also any information I use that is not my own I will provide the information of where I received the message, so you can also check them out if you would like further guidance and help.

My current reading: Lord, Change My Attitude (Before It’s Too Late) by James McDonald

James 1:19

This you know, my beloved brethren But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger;

Wow, God asks us to quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger. Well this was one of my problem areas because I had a lot I wanted people to hear and I wanted so much to have my way. I had a lot going on with every day life, so I just wanted to get things done so I could rest a moment. Being a mom, caregiver, working, doing house chores, running errands and etc. So my anger would get the best of me and I would find myself saying things I would later regret. Many times my family was at the forefront of my anger while I was being someone else in front of others.

I know many of us have had those moments whether it was someone cutting us off in traffic, someone with a nasty attitude or maybe we just woke up on the wrong side of the bed today. We have to remember in everything be thankful. I remember times when I would be upset about things that had happened while at work and I would carry that home to my family. Snapping at them and yelling at them. My problems were not with them but with the things I was allowing to distract me from what was going on during that time. Sometimes, I was just in a bad mood and because they were there I was taking it out on them.

During my walk with Christ I am learning to pray through things before I speak because anger is a sin. I am suppose to treat everyone the way I wish to be treated. Well, I know I don’t want people taking their anger and frustration our on me, so how can I do it to others and not expect it done to me. We all have to be aware of our actions because we all want to pleasing in the eye of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

